

MINUTES OF THE ABILENE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD WITH THE TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE July 28, 2020

The Abilene MPO Transportation Policy Board met at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, July 28, 2020, via Zoom software. This was a joint meeting with the Technical Advisory Committee in attendance.

Members Present:

Councilman Shane Price, City of Abilene (*Policy Board Chairman*) Mr. Carl Johnson, P.E., TxDOT Abilene District Engineer Judge Dale Spurgin, Jones County

Members Absent:

Judge Downing Bolls, Taylor County (*Policy Board Vice-Chairman*) Mayor Anthony Williams, City of Abilene

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Members Present:

Mr. Don Green, City of Abilene Transportation Director
Mr. Cliff Hallford, PMP, TxDOT, Advanced Planning Manager (*Designee TxDOT- Haithcock*)
Mr. Max Johnson, City of Abilene Assistant Public Works Director (*Designee Public Works - McCaffery*)
Mr. Paul Norman, P.E., TxDOT Abilene Area Engineer
Mr. James Rogge, P.E., City of Abilene Traffic Engineer
Mr. Bobby Sharpe, General Manager, CityLink
Ms. E'Lisa Smetana, Abilene MPO Executive Director – Chair
Ms. PJ Sumner, WCTCOG Environmental Program Coordinator
Mr. Mike Warrix, AICP, City of Abilene Director of Planning and Development Services

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Members Absent:

Commissioner Ross Davis, Jones County Mr. Tommy Downing, Dyess Air Force Base Community Planner Mr. Justin Jaworski, Executive Director, Abilene Industrial Foundation, Abilene Chamber of Commerce Mayor Pro-Tem Nancy Moore, City of Tye Mr. Dan Richardson, P.E., TxDOT Abilene Director of Operations Mayor Pro-Tem Woody Shanks, City of Impact Mr. Charlie Thomas, P.E., Interim City Engineer Mr. Steve Turner, City of Tye, Public Works Commissioner Randy Williams, Taylor County – Vice-Chair

Non-Voting TAC Members Present:

Mr. Anthony Jones, Federal Highway Administration, Community Planner

Non-Voting TAC Members Absent:

Ms. Lynn Hayes, Federal Transit Administration, Community Planner Ms. Winona Henry, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Regional Director Mr. Nick Page, TxDOT TP&P, MPO Coordinator Ms. Jessica Pena, TxDOT Public, Transportation Coordinator

Staff of Member Agencies in Attendance:

Ms. Shawna Atkinson, TRMC, City of Abilene City Secretary Ms. Nellie Doneva, City of Abilene Videographer Ms. Kelley Messer, City of Abilene First Assistant City Attorney

MPO Staff in Attendance:

Ms. E'Lisa Smetana, Abilene MPO Executive Director (listed above in TAC members also)

Others in Attendance:

Mr. Andy Mullins, Texas A & M Transportation Institute Ms. Geena Maskey, TxDOT TPP Mr. Jonathan Avner, Whitman, Requardt, & Associates, LLP Mr. Kevin Lancaster, Whitman, Requardt, & Associates LLP

1. Call to Order.

Chairman Price called the meeting to order at 1:36 p.m. He announced that public comment could be taken on any item appearing on the agenda during the discussion of that item.

2. Receive a Report, Hold a Discussion, and Take Action on the Travel Demand Model. (Consultants – Whitman, Requardt & Associates, LLP)

Due to technical difficulties this item was taken out of order after agenda item #4.

Ms. Smetana introduced the topic. She talked about the kickoff meeting held almost a year ago on May 24, 2019 and discussed her appreciation to TxDOT for getting the consultants on board. The consultants will be showing how the model works at this meeting. She stated that once the model is calibrated and completed the model will be presented to the MPO. Mr. Jonathan Avner with Whitman, Requardt, & Associates LLP discussed the data and findings on the model. Mr. Kevin Lancaster with Whitman, Requardt, & Associates LLP showcased the various aspects that the model can accomplish. Discussion was held. Chairman Price asked how the model is kept updated. Ms. Smetana responded that this is one of the questions we will be discussing with TxDOT after we receive the model. Ms. Smetana stated that at this time this is no action needed on this item.

3. Hold a Discussion and Take Action on the National Highway System.

Moved up on the agenda due to technical difficulties with item #2.

Ms. Smetana discussed the National Highway System and the Policy Board recommendations from June 18, 2019. She further stated that on July 6, 2020 TxDOT submitted information back to the MPO and asked that the Policy Board review and approved those recommendations via a board resolution before September 2020. Ms. Smetana showed two resolutions that were included in the packet email – one with just the removal of Sayles Boulevard and the other with the removal of Sayles Boulevard and the addition of the roadways US 277, SH 36, S. 27th, and FM 89. She said that resolution with the addition of the roadways more closely matched the previous Board action from June 2019. Chairman Price asked for any motion to include the resolution that will be selected. Discussion occurred about this item. Judge Spurgin made a motion to approve the resolution with the removal of Sayles Boulevard along with the addition of the roadways and this was seconded by Mr. Johnson. *Motion carried (3-0).*

4. MPO Director's Report

- Future Work Tasks

• Saturation Count Locations – This will be for the 2020 urban counts. The MPO will be working with our partners to prepare requests for additional needed count sites. These are due to TxDOT by September 4, 2020.

- Update to the FYs 2020-2021 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) The MPO offices will be moving to 209 South Danville and FHWA would like to see more details of that expense in the UPWP so this will be a future work task.
- 5. Opportunity for members of the Public to make comments on MPO issues. None.
- 6. Opportunity for Board Members, Technical Advisory Committee Members, or MPO Staff to recommend topics for future discussion or action.

Ms. Smetana said that we do have a quorum of the Technical Advisory Committee Members present for this meeting for the record.

7. Adjournment.

With no further matters on the agenda, Chairman Price adjourned the meeting at 2:38 p.m.